News 17 may — 11:38

Trump prepares new sanctions against Russia


US President Donald Trump has issued a memorandum for the secretary of state, secretary of the treasury, secretary of defence, secretary of commerce, and the director of national intelligence, which among other things provides for introduction of sanctions against Russia for  alleged violations of a 1987 Intermediate-Range Nuclear Forces missile treaty, Azeri Daily reports citing the official website of the White House.

'By the authority vested in me as President by the Constitution and the laws of the United States of America, including section 301 of title 3, United States Code, I hereby delegate to the Secretary of State, in coordination with the Secretary of the Treasury, the Secretary of Defense, the Secretary of Commerce, and the Director of National Intelligence, the functions and authorities vested in the President by section 1244(c)(1)-(4) of the National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2018 (Public Law 115-91),' says the memo.

'The delegations in this memorandum shall apply to any provisions of any future public law that are the same or substantially the same as the provision referenced in this memorandum,' emphasises the memo.

The measures listed in section 1244(c)(1)-(4) of the mentioned National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2018 include travel bans and asset freezes on senior Russian officials identified as being responsible for ordering or facilitating Russia’s non-compliance with the pact.

Latest news