Azerbaijani Politics 14 may — 11:05

Azerbaijan vetoed EU's final document


The heads of the foreign ministries of the European Union and the Eastern Partnership member-countries lowered the status of the jubilee declaration on the occasion of the tenth anniversary of the partnership, as the delegation of Azerbaijan expressed dissatisfaction with the text of the document because it did not raise the issue of the country's territorial integrity, Radio Liberty reports.

According to Radio Liberty sources, the text of the declaration was not changed, however, instead of the signatures of all the summit participants, it received only the signature of the chairperson of the meeting, EU High Representative for the Common Foreign and Security Policy Federica Mogherini.

In addition, during the discussion of the text, Georgia and Ukraine also expressed dissatisfaction with the fact that it did not contain the recognition by Brussels of the 'European aspirations' of individual countries of the Eastern Partnership.

However, Tbilisi and Kyiv found it satisfactory that the declaration contained references to previous documents, in particular, statements on the results of the Eastern Bloc summits.

'This is the moment ... to reaffirm the joint commitments enshrined in the Eastern Partnership Summit declarations, and to underline our firm intention to carry them forward,' reads the jubilee statement entitled 'Chair's conclusions on the occasion of the Eastern Partnership 10th Anniversary.'

The Eastern Partnership was formed in 2009. This is a project of the European Union, which has the main stated goal of the development of integration ties of the European Union with the six countries of the former USSR: Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine.

Latest news